Growing up, my mom cooked for my dad and me every single night.  That’s probably who gave me a love for cooking, though I refused to even touch a frying pan as a kid.  One of my favorite things that my mom would make were lemon bars!  They’re such a classic sweet treat and are delicious whether warm or cold.  The recipe my mom used was from Ina Garten, her favorite chef.  I was able to locate the recipe online and spent my Saturday afternoon baking!

I’ve been craving something sweet.

fullsizeoutput_1b6f

The crust for the bars has to be made from scratch!  I believe I was a bread maker in my past life, so kneading dough is second nature to me.  So is eating dough and bread.  This crust is made with 2 whole sticks of butter!! Dreams.

fullsizeoutput_1b70

Spread the dough around the pan.  The dough was so good I kept munching on it while making it.

fullsizeoutput_1b71

The filling requires an entire cup of fresh lemon juice, plus the zest from all these lemons.  This is where the elbow grease comes in.

fullsizeoutput_1b72

Add in the filling and pop it in the oven!

fullsizeoutput_1b73

And voila!!  I had to bake it for an extra 7-10 minutes because it was a still a little gooey on the inside.  The yellow specks are the lemon zest gratings!

fullsizeoutput_1b74

And here are two of my roommates enjoying the treats!  Thank God I have someone to share them with so I don’t eat them all.  Joyful exclamations resounded through the kitchen as they took their first couple of bites.  Emily described them as: rich, tart, flaky, buttery, and super thick.  Addy said they are the best lemon tarts she has ever had.

I will cook that live lobster before I leave for Paris, I promise!  Last night, I cooked a fabulous New York Strip steak that I purchased on sale at Whole Foods.  It was so good that I sprinted back to Whole Foods this morning to get two more.  I boiled an artichoke today for lunch, but struggled to eat it.  How do you properly eat an artichoke?  Which parts are edible??  I’m very confused.

I can’t stop listening to “Let’s Stay Together” by Al Green.  I’m also writing a philosophy paper on the existence of the past and its importance.  And I think my Sunday breakfast is going to be a cold lemon bar.

Leave a Reply

